The Wait is Over

Throughout the ages, the basic questions of humankind have been, “What is the meaning of life?” and “What happens when we die?” Alysha Kaye’s debut novel, “The Waiting Room,” changes that dynamic – it seeks to provide a possible answer to what happens after death, and will leave you asking, “What is the meaning of death?”

I am so thankful to Kaye for blessing me with a free pre-release copy of this book to review. It was a serious page turner and I had a hard time putting it down. It was also a book that I had a very difficult time not discussing with my friends and family, as I knew so many who would love it. (In fact, I had to dish – and share – this book with my mom.)

To put this book in a genre, I guess I’d have to call it a “paranormal romance,” but this book is so much more. It is a special, spiritual journey to a place that I’ve never found myself before, and would love to revisit.

At the beginning of the book, we meet the main character, Jude, a few hours after his first death. He is in “The Waiting Room,” where people are sent after death until a suitable life can be found for their reincarnation. Except, while others are passing through, usually on their way to their new lives in 15 minutes to an hour, Jude is different. Jude waits, as no one else ever has. For 52 years. Until his wife, Nora, comes to the waiting room with him and they are reunited.

Jude has been told that his condition is unprecedented and no one can say what will happen. He is told that even those who come into the waiting room together and who leave the waiting room together for new lives won’t necessarily know each other again.

However, although nothing sets Jude and Nora apart from other loving couples, they are the exceptions – allowed to walk through life after life together. Like other couples, over time, they have their share of arguments (OK, so maybe “like other couples” isn’t the right terminology when the largest of these arguments takes place in death).

While the storyline took twists that left me a little disappointed, I believe that feeling stemmed from the fact that I had wanted answers as much as the main characters, and began to see that I wasn’t going to find any, either. I found myself both uplifted and downhearted as the waiting room evolved – I had been transported to such a familiar place with such familiar characters by Kaye that I didn’t want to accept some of the changes.

Kaye has written a powerful novel that will leave you with both a smile on your face and a tear in your eye, questions in your heart and eager to read more of her work.

Get this book for Kindle today for just $3.99. Or, if you can wait just a little longer, a print copy is available for $9.99 – and this is a book you’ll likely be delighted to have in your library. Be sure to follow Alysha Kaye, as well, for updates on this book and future projects – this is an author from whom you’ll definitely want to hear more.

3 thoughts on “The Wait is Over

Leave a Reply

