“Twirty-Something”

I’m currently struggling through a longer, rougher selection in my reading list (which I do intend to finish, for reasons I’ll reveal in the review, so I won’t mention the title here). So I’ve been lightening the mood with some other, lighter reading in between.

One gem I have found in the interim is “Twirty-Something: A Young Woman’s Guide to Giant Underwear” by Ingrid Rienke.

I readily identified with every one of these essays, and loved the humor and wit with which they were presented. This is exactly the advice I would give my younger self if I could go back in time, but to which I probably would not have listened.

From reading, it’s hard to tell if the target audience truly is younger women, or whether it really is us “twirty-something” women who have already been there, done that, and gotten the T-shirts. Because I know, as a younger woman, I never would have thought there would be a day when these words rang so true for me. But it’s a great book for those of us who’ve already had the experience – reading Reinke’s book is like having a best friend there to commisserate on all the ways our lives have changed since our younger days. And at the very least, it’s amusing to contemplate the thought of someone explaining these changes in great detail to a younger generation, or to wonder how our lives might have been changed had someone explained all of this to us before we had to learn it on our own.

I’d recommend this short collection of essays to women of all ages – to the younger women who might still benefit from the wisdom of slightly older women, to those of us “Twirty-Somethings” who can readily identify with the very real plights of life expressed in these pages, and even to women who have moved past that point in their lives, who might be able to wistfully look back to the days when these were their struggles. And who knows, some of those older women might even be encouraged to share their wit and wisdom with those of us “Twirty-Somethings,” and perhaps we have grown up enough now to listen. Otherwise, perhaps we’ll have to wait for Reinke to share with us the issues of menopause, graying hair, hair dye, and the numerous other issues we’ll face in the future, hopefully still with the same delightful humor.

After the laughs and groans of “Twirty-Something,” I was excited to find that Reinke also has a debut novel, “Dead End Job,” part of her Louisa Hallstrom series, also currently available free for the Kindle. I look forward to reading it soon.

 

2 thoughts on ““Twirty-Something”

Leave a Reply

