Book Tag Thursday

Inside & Out
I – Inside flap/Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough? (Discuss)
I’ve found my share of both. I’m much more likely to read books that share too much info than those that have not enough. Unlike Faith, I’ve had too many disappointments with reading the first few pages, or else I begin to feel a commitment to the book once I’ve already opened it that far. These summaries are one of the things I miss most now that I do most of my reading on Kindle.
N – New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: Audiobook, eBook, Paperback, or Hardcover?
My preferred format will always be paperback. I get to enjoy the smell of the paper and they’re just so much easier to hold when lounging and reading. Most of my new books are currently in Kindle format, for the convenience, and the Kindle has changed the way I read, so I have to give props to the eBook, also.
S – Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why.)
For the most part, I keep the books I read for pleasure clean. I’m likely to scribble, draw pictures, take notes, highlight, etc. in an informative book, though.
I – In your best voice, read for us your favorite 1st sentence from a book.
“Book reading is a solitary and sedentary pursuit, and those who do are cautioned that a book should be used as an integral part of a well-rounded life, including a daily regimen of rigorous physical exercisem rewarding personal relationships, and a sensible low-fat diet. A book should not be used as a substitute or an excuse.” – from Garrison Keillor’s “The Book of Guys”
(Because sometimes I need this advice.)
D – Does it matter to you whether the author is male or female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?
Mot particular, though oddly enough it sometimes bothers me when I’m unsure. I tend to prefer male writers overall, but it doesn’t influence me in choosing books by new-to-me authors.
E – Ever read ahead? Or have you ever read the last page way before you got there? (Do confess thy sins, foul demon!)
Yes, and I’ve almost always regretted it. The times when I did were because I dreaded a particular ending, and so by skipping ahead I’ve always saved myself that pure emotion by knowing a crisis was averted or have ruined my enjoyment of the rest of the book knowing that the dreaded happens. I’m trying to recall the long-awaited title I was once reading where I skipped ahead, swearing that I was going to put the book down if there was not an unforseen twist. Luckily for me, there was – but how much better would the book have been if I’d had the patience to venture forward through it with the full emotional baggage? The book that immediately comes to mind is “Son of a Witch” by Gregory Maguire, sequel to “Wicked.” I can’t recall whether it was a conscious decision or by accident that my eyes skimmed the final line of the book. (As it was my third attempt at reading and the furthest I’d made it through the book, I suspect it was intentional.) I recall the tears of sheer emotion at that moment, when that one very simple last line (I believe it is three words, as I recall.) said everything. If you’ve read the book you’ll know exactly what I mean, and I won’t share the line here in case you ever might want to read the book, if you haven’t. And I read the last third of the book in a single sitting after reading that one line.
&
O – Organized bookshelves or Outrageous bookshelves?
Outrageous bookshelves, and book boxes, and book stacks, and well … just books.
U – Under oath: have you ever bought a book based on the cover alone?
Definitely yes. Especially bargain books.
T – Take it outside to read, or stay in?
There’s nothing I love like lounging outside with a great paperback. I generally stay in with my Kindle.

Faith Simone

books2

I found this cute little game on Life of a Female Bibliophile and decided to participate in a book tag.  If you want to play along, just answer the questions in the comments below or post them on your blog. Don’t forget to link back to me!

 Inside & Out

I – Inside flap/Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough? (Discuss)

Most of the time, it’s just enough. I’m going to read the first few pages anyway before I decide whether I’m going to read the whole book.

N – New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: Audiobook, eBook, Paperback, or Hardcover?

I love the feel and smell of hardcover books.

S – Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why.)

Where do they…

View original post 312 more words

Leave a Reply

