Fortunate to find best-selling free reads

While Kindle freebies are a great marketing strategy frequently employed by indie publishers and small publishing houses, occasionally you’ll find works by best-selling authors, as well.

One of the first free books I picked up for the Kindle was “The Fortune Quilt,” by Lani Diane Rich, a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author.

Although the free “purchase” was a limited time deal, it’s available for $2.99 regularly on Amazon and is eligible for the Kindle Lending Library.

The the tagline on the front of the book was part of what caught my attention, “She’ll tell you love is waiting … she just won’t tell you where.” And while this apparently builds interest (or did for me, anyway), this book is so much more than that.

The real crux of the story, rather than romance, is actually that of a young woman rediscovering herself. There’s a touch of family drama thrown in to explain why Carly, the main character of the novel, seems to flounder a bit at life. Throw in a cast of sometimes highly unpredictable characters, add a touch of romance, and you have a really enjoyable read.

Although liked this book, I’m really glad that I didn’t pay anything for it. Not that I would have, because it’s not the type of book I ever would have purchased. But I’m glad that I read it. And I’d definitely check out her other books or e-books from my local library if I find myself at a loss for light reading material. It appears that Rich is a fairly prolific writer in the “chick lit” genre. Since I enjoyed this book outside my usual reading “comfort zone,” I don’t feel it’s surprising that the author would be a favorite among fans of her brand of fiction.

If you haven’t read anything by Rich and chick lit is your thing, I’d definitely recommend Rich and more specifically, “The Fortune Quilt.” And if it’s not your thing, but you happen to stumble across a free copy, you might just want to give it a try, too.

To find limited-time offers on best-selling authors in the genres you prefer, be sure to check out some of the listing services. My top picks are Book Gorilla (which has an app that makes reviewing the free book lists even easier than checking your e-mail) and Book Lending.

Leave a Reply

